The best way to provide enough homes in large cities is to build tall apartment blocks. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, many large cities are facing housing shortage due to rapid population growth. Some people believe that constructing high-rise buildings is the most effective way to provide homes for residents. Overall, people could face some issues because of tall apartments, but I strongly agree with this statement because tall buildings can provide many opportunities and make better use of limited land. Alongside, they allow more people to live in a convenient locations.

Firstly, building high-rise apartments need only limitted space. Nowadays, many large cities do not have enough space to build more houses for individuals. So this will be the best solution to the lack of space in cities. Tall apartments can accommodate hundreds of families on a small piece of land. As a result, governments can provide housing for many people without expanding the city.

Secondly, this type of apartment are often located close to the workplaces, schools, hospitals, and transportations. It is very easy to get their destination and this allows residents to spend less time travelling. Apart from that, many families can live in this one building and it gives them the chance to create strong bonding with their neighbours.

However, there are also some drawbacks of high-rise building. For instance, there will be less sun light becuse of the tall apartments. Not only that, but also high-rise blocks may lead to overcrowding or reduce privacy. More importantly, If any natural disaster occurs, then it will be tough to evacuate the whole building instantly. While it can happens if the apartment blocks are poorly desgined. Many construction organizations provides high skills worker and architecture to make a secure building and they install many advanced equipment to prevent this types of risk .

In conclusion, despite having some drawbacks, I firmly believe that constructing tall buildings can make peoples life more convenient and also most effective way to reduce housing shortage. They make efficient use of limitted land, provide accommodation for large number of people.