The best way to provide enough homes in large cities is to build tall apartment blocks. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, it is often argued that high-rise buildings can solve the problem of housing shortage and give a chance for citizens to buy affordable apartments. I completely agree with this statement, because tall buildings can help governments economise on land use, whereas residents can stop worrying about their place of residence.

Firstly, one of the main reasons why I believe this is true is that building large high-rise apartment blocks could save more territory, which, in addition, could be a great opportunity for authority to construct new useful places such as medical and entertaniment centres, schools, shops, museums, libraries. For instance, there are a lot of huge high-rise buildings or Penthouses in New York city, because that city does not have enough space to accommodate detached houses, that is why city leaders decide to use space sparingly. As a result, building tall apartment vertical blocks could be more efficient to save ground for authority of urban areas.

Secondly, another crucial point is that either old or new citizens could get rid of anxiety about housing shortage, because there are more affordable housing with high-rise buildings in a large city. This means that, if a new resident decides to move to an urban city, he will always get a chance to find an accommodation, which is really beneficial. Therefore, building high-rise appartments can assist citizens to purchase an affordable permanent place of residence. Moreover, life in this type of apartment, which are usually located in city centres, can deliver a significantly improved quality of life.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that, constructing tall apartment blocks could not only help to save a huge piece of land, but also provide sufficient, affordable and comfortable housings.