The internet has brought more problems than benefits to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe the introduction of the internet was more detrimental to society rather than beneficial. I don’t agree with the statement. Even though the internet has raised concerns about privacy, I believe that internet provides wider access to information and enhances communication.

On the one hand, some say, internet can cause certain problems regarding privacy. Since people share large amount of personal data online, there is a high tendency for it to be misused, collected or leaked by certain companies or cybercriminals. For example, hackers may get access to their financial details which can result in stealing the money. However, these issues can be reduced by strong cybersecurity systems and awareness among users.

On the other hand, I believe that internet has given wide range of opportunities including, universal access to information. Unlike in the past, when in order to get information people had to go to libraries, go through textbooks, archives and didn’t have access to some textbooks also, it was time consuming, we can find any data we want in few seconds. For instance, if you want to know about how heart functions you just type it and the internet will provide you with all the information in just a second.

Moreover, the internet changed the way that people communicate today. Now, people can easily text, call, email any person that they want. For example, more and more social media platforms are being introduced and have considerably high number of users. These platforms allow individuals to communicate easily regardless of the distance or place and it takes a less than a second to send a message. Unlike now, people had to write letters and send them through mails and it would take weeks or moths to reach the intended person in past.

In conclusion, despite causing threat to privacy of individuals, I believe that internet’s benefits are more important, as it had given extensive access to information and better communication methods.