The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this contemporary world, Science plays a crucial role to develop the living status of individuals in the world. Enhancement of the status of the lives of people is considered as the most pivotal objective of Science. This essay agrees that Science is responsible for offering a better life since it is capable of improving the health status of people and it facilitates continuous food supply. However, Science can also be utilized as a weapon for terrorism. In this essay, i will discuss the merits of the science to develop people’s lives followed by its demerits to the world.

First and foremost, science is the best way to offer people a good health as various severe disease conditions can be addressed by using science knowledge. That is to say, almost all the treatments for critical health conditions such as cancers, diabetes are based on science and technology. For example, Russian mRNA vaccine for cancer is considered as the best invention in the century which implies the power of Science. Therefore, the strength of Science can be used to reward a good health for individuals.

Secondly, science is mainly responsible for mitigating food scarcity. In other words, a continuous food supply can be achieved for the sake of science reducing the starvation of people in the world. This is because the technologies in science such as recombinant DNA technology can be used to improve the yield of crops by introducing genetic modifications to various staple food crops such as rice. This ultimately leads to a continuous food chain throughout the year regardless of weather conditions. Thus, science is powerful enough to reduce the hunger of people.

On the other hand, science can be used as a killer wave because of its potential to innovate various bioweapons. For example, a recent study has mentioned that various harmful microorganisms who spread serious diseases such as Ebola can be engineered by using science technologies as bioweapons. These biological weapons can be released to the environment which paves the way to a dark future. Therefore it is clear that Science possess a negative impact on people’s lives.

The power of science should be utilized to enhance the living status of individuals. It is crystal clear that science is a double edged sword that poses both negative and positive powers. Hence, it is indispensable to energize science in a good manner to develops people’s life.