The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Science is a giant umbrella that covers the vast expanse of knowledge. It has primarily been used in various ways for the betterment of people’s lives, such as advancements in the health sector, the invention of innumerous machines and robots that aid us in our daily lives. This essay will provide insight as to why I wholeheartedly agree with the notion that science should be used for improving people’s living standards.

In recent years, due to profound research into the human body by scientists, there have been giant leaps in the vast availability of treatments and cures being discovered for a large number of previously incurable diseases. For instance, the treatment and management of the increasingly prevalent disease known as diabetes, has become widely accessible and very cost effective. This is made possible due to the constant advancements in the field of science.

Furthermore, with the advent of various machines and robots, the daily menial and difficult tasks have become easier and more efficient to perform. For example, the invention of the modern car has provided man with luxuries that were unimaginable a couple centuries ago. Another example would be the introduction of the smartphone which has made long distance communication hassle free and efficient. This would not be achievable without the use of science.

In conclusion, science has allowed us to become healthier and live more efficiently due to the invention of modern medicines, and many advanced machines and gadgets. Thus, taking into consideration the benefits that science has provided for humans, I fully agree that the primary focus by scientists should be improving our quality of life.