The rise of social media platforms has made it easier for people to vent their frustrations and complaints publicly. What is the consequence of this trend? Is there any benefit to expressing complaints on social media?

Social Media is a tool that is becoming quite popular these days because of its user-friendly features. It helps every individual to share their views and vent their frustrations publicly. But like a coin, these social networking sites also have two sides. While there are advantages, there are many drawbacks because of this.

To begin with, one can express their issues caused by someone or something here and increase awareness in society by using such social networking platforms. It helps to expose the wrongdoings of some person or a company so that the officials can take serious action as soon as possible. For instance, I came across a blog on a famous social media application regarding how a company scammed people into purchasing stocks from their company. A good fellow citizen, who was conned by the company shared it on social media. Now many are aware of the bogus company and steered clear of it. The officials responded to the person and took necessary actions against the company. Therefore, it is quite advantageous in such cases and people are becoming more attuned to these situations.

On the other hand, although it is highly beneficial to share one’s views on social media, it can lead to many complications such as cyberbullying, stalking, and harassment which is leading to depression in all generations. Fake news is being circulated all over the internet and people are misinformed about a lot of things. Privacy is compromised and people are feeling violated. Many children and adults have become victims of cyberbullying. Recently, I heard about a celebrity being harassed by anti-fans on social media which led to a decline in her mental health. This is increasing toxicity in people and a hate-bred environment in society. Henceforth, everyone should be aware of these consequences. I believe that proper cyber monitoring and regulating news flow on the internet could help in taking down such misfortunes.

To recapitulate, though expressing frustration and views on social media publicly has become a trend in this generation, we must bear in mind that this huge network must be used sensibly, balancing the needs for expressing gratification and community building.