The rise of social media platforms has made it easier for people to vent their frustrations and complaints publicly. What is the consequence of this trend? Is there any benefit to expressing complaints on social media?

The advancement of social media platforms has rendered their users able to manifest depression and negative comments online straightforwardly. I subscribe to the idea that although individuals using these platforms could have to confront plenty of pressure, it is also beneficial that they would stand a great chance of alleviating their anxiety. On the one hand, if online users deliberately demonstrate their exasperation by giving public criticism, they will put a strain on others’ lives. As a matter of fact, people are more inclined to be exposed to each other’s perspectives while surfing the net due to the possibility of interchanging opinions, unintentionally making others either embroiled in negative stories or think of problematic issues. This, thus, can do other people a disservice since not only does it stress them out but also it might distort numerous notions of lives. For instance, making use of Facebook to share personal problems of marriages relying on one-sided views unconsciously drives others to call into question their marriage states. On the other hand, despite the aforementioned repercussion of displaying grudges and desperation on social networks, it might constitute an advisable approach to mitigate the level of stress. The key rationale behind this is that with the infinite connection with other online users, people are more likely to post a bunch of opposing statuses to decry particular aspects of their lives as a way to look for sympathy. Indeed, if people had no opportunities to show off their thoughts, others would never have a better insight into their personalities, let alone their realistic lives. Therefore, confiding in like-minded people would bring people facing problems a sense of release while having others recommend suggestions for these adversities. For example, Facebook, the most frequently used platform during customers’ leisure time these days, grants them the unlimited ability to share the obstacles of their lives with their friends through storylines. In conclusion, notwithstanding that expressing personal dissatisfaction along with protests on social media could indeliberately force others to face harassment, I am of the opinion that this phenomenon still helps people alleviate their depression.