The rise of social media platforms has made it easier for people to vent their frustrations and complaints publicly. What is the consequence of this trend? Is there any benefit to expressing complaints on social media?

Social media is one of the great places, that give people the freedom to express their opinions or views of the world. However, this brings two sides of consequence and benefits to our lives. Besides giving good choices to people in choosing products or building up support for each other, the consequences may destroy an individual’s image and create negative trends

To begin with, the benefits things, when people are free to show their opinions on Facebook, TikTok, or Instagram, then readers can approach it and have a range of choices of products. In some particular situations, if people face a problem with the authorities or other public and private entities they interact with, they can log on to a social media platform and post their complaints there. Anything publicly shared on social media can reach millions in a few hours and a quick resolution is usually achieved. Thanks to social media, the general public can now expose corrupt and inefficient officials. This fear of getting exposed on social media has made many government officials honest and efficient.

In contrast, social media has also given narcissists and anti-social elements a platform to express their useless, even harmful opinions. Sometimes, people use social media for the sole objective of spreading falsehood or destroying another person’s image. No one bothers to check the veracity of social media posts, and people take everything posted online at face value. This can cause extreme damage. Thoughtless social media posts can even trigger communal riots and social unrest.

In short, social media has given everyone an individual voice, and I believe that it is a good thing. Unfortunately, social media is a double-edged sword and is liable to be misused.