The rise of social media platforms has made it easier for people to vent their frustrations and complaints publicly. What is the consequence of this trend? Is there any benefit to expressing complaints on social media?

Nowadays, individuals can express their concerns and dissatisfaction easily via social media. While this development has provided people with a chance to voice their opinions without restrictions, many have taken it as an opportunity to be abusive and hateful online. However, with everything else taken into consideration, the biggest advantage of venting problems on the internet is that a number of people receive the needed assistance, either through governments or through charitable organizations.

Social media has made more room for free speech. This is because everyone is free to present their arguments and counterarguments along with objective evidence. Such a development has allowed the public to form informed opinions about the state of affairs without the influence of governmental propaganda. Therefore, people have become more aware of societal problems and the sufferings of marginalized groups. For example, news about the Israeli-Gaza war is loaded with propaganda from both battling sides, and objective truth could only be learned by observing each side’s evidence on social media. Nevertheless, people tend to be brave behind the screens because they think their actions have no direct consequences. Thus, many people use vulgar and abusive language to express their thoughts or to debate others online. This has led the internet to be a ripe ground for bullying and for triggering mental health problems.

Many people have benefited from expressing their problems on social media. This is because they raise awareness of their suffering, thereby attracting the attention of different organizations that could help them. For instance, many indebted families in the Gulf countries repay their debts by posting about their need on social media and receiving charity from good Samaritans.

In conclusion, venting frustrations online has given people a vent for free speech, but many choose to use it to abuse others. However, this phenomenon has proven to be very beneficial as it helps relieve many plights all over the world.