The trend of individuals sharing personal data online for personalized services is growing, but it raises concerns about privacy and security. Do the advantages of sharing personal data for customized experiences outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been an increasing trend among people who share their personal information online and virtually interact with other individuals too. From my own perspective, these benefits do not outweigh the drawbacks related to privacy and improper use of information.

To begin with, there has been a growing trend among humans who post their personal information on the internet and actively communicate with other people too. With the rapid development of social media and technology, individuals have become more interested in finding new friends, relationships, and posting their personal life in front of thousands of users to become popular and highly recognizable as well. As a consequence, a variety of popular dating applications have been created and sponsored to attract people. Hence, users must share some confidential data in order to find their second halves. In addition, people needn’t be anxious when they talk to someone via the internet, because they can easily block this person and find someone else instead. For these particular reasons, people favor virtual communication over face-to-face conversations.

Nevertheless, a critical issue has emerged: whether the mentioned pros can outweigh the cons? On the one hand, it is more convenient to interact with others via the most popular applications, which prevail in our modern society. On the other hand, it is a great possibility for attackers and frauds to steal any confidential information, so that they would be able to use humans’ money and personality in their illegal business. What is more, with the rapid improvements of artificial intelligence, it has become hardly overwhelming to create an unreal personality and act accordingly. Therefore, some individuals can associate with possible hackers without any awareness at all. Afterwards, these hackers can blackmail people and charge tremendous amounts of money to save the victims’ privacy. Thus, I am convinced that advantageous sides are undeniably outweighed by disadvantageous facts.

In conclusion, more and more people share information about themselves on social media and interact with others too. This essay had articulated my stance against beneficial sides, and ascertained my own view regarding the given statement.