The use of personal cars has increased more than ever before but this use of cars causes many problems. What are those problems? In order to reduce these problems, should we discourage people to use cars?

In the present-day it is hard to imagine a world without cars. Throughout the past 30 years, the number of car drivers went up so drastically that some cities seem to always be in the state of rush hour. I fully agree that nowadays car overconsumption is a part of our world that influences our life in several ways.

First, the increased quantity of cars has a huge impact on the air pollution. The more time drivers spend in the traTic jam, the more gases are produced, which stay in the air citizens breath in. Another problem with rocketed number of vehicles on the streets is the distressing noise level. Beeping, shouting, sounds of motor engines cause discomfort for people living or working with windows facing a busy road.

One of the possible solutions for the outlined problem which can be taken by the government is the increased fee for car ownership and usage. If all the vehicles entering the city centre were charged a considerably high amount of money, it would prevent many people from going there all at once. However, it could cause distress for some people which cannot avoid using the car in the city centre and cannot aTord the increased costs. A further suggestion to tackle the problem would be to make public transport more accessible. For example, in Luxembourg all the public transportation is free of charge which takes oT the burden of having to pay for your own vehicle. Having said that, not all countries have the funds to ensure a free and well-connected public transportation system.

In conclusion, the rapid rise of car usage has negative consequences on the air and our health. With the described solutions, namely the introduction of the higher car fees and the availability of the public transportation, the government can undertake initial steps to keep people back from using their vehicles.