The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People usually work five days a week, from Monday to Friday. So, Saturday and Sunday are traditionally considered rest days. Many individuals claim that this working system should be modified. It is often argued that a two-day weekend is not enough to get ready for another working week. I completely agree with this opinion and believe that a job should take four days a week, leaving three days for relaxation. Such changes would be beneficial because they could significantly improve employees’ well-being and increase their productivity.

Firstly, the main reason why I agree with this statement is that a shorter working week may improve the mental health of workers. After five shifts, two days are not enough to recover their energy. This is because Saturday is generally spent getting enough sleep, and Sunday is typically spent preparing for the following Monday. As a result, employees do not truly rest; instead, they take a short break. By extending their weekends, workers would have an additional day, which they can spend in any way they want without worrying about how it Thmight affect their work. Three days of doing things not related to the work would allow them to recover mentally, reducing stress and preventing burnout. So, people would be healthier if there were a better work-life balance.

Secondly, another reason why I think that a longer weekend is a great change is that a four-day workweek increases productivity and work efficiency. Despite having fewer working hours, employees become more motivated and focused because they have more time to rest. As a result, they are likely to complete tasks more quickly and make fewer mistakes. Consequently, the increase in efficiency could compensate for the reduction in working hours and benefit companies in the long term.

To conclude, the number of workdays should be shorter because longer weekends help people to rest fully, reducing stress and preventing mental troubles, and make them motivated and productive because of enough rest time.