The world of work is changing rapidly and employees cannot depend on having the same job or the same working conditions for life. Discuss the possible causes for this rapid change, and suggest ways of preparing people for the world of work in the future.

According to the given statement, the field of work is undergoing immense change, which is in turn forcing employees to not rely on the same workplace and the same working conditions for a longer time. In my opinion, the cause of this change is the outdated education system and the adoption of artificial intelligence in the workplace.

In today’s world, technology is constantly developing. The emergence of new ideas and techniques transforms the conventional method of doing certain tasks. Unfortunately, the education system and the authorities who are in charge of it are sluggish to adapt to this change. This creates a certain gap in the skillset a graduate employee possesses and what is required at the workplace. For example, the induction of Industry 4.0 completely automates the manufacturing industry. Now some of the old manufacturing techniques and their theories which are still being taught in the syllabus have become obsolete. Hence an employee with this knowledge doesn’t bring much to the table as far as creativity and development are concerned.

Another prominent reason is the induction of artificial Intelligence. Artificial Intelligence has eliminated the need for certain employees who were doing low-skilled and repetitive tasks. Surprisingly, it has also affected a highly skilled field like design. For example, designers have always been in demand for their creativity and innovative ideas. But with the appropriate dataset, artificial Intelligence can easily come up with a design as good, if not better in much less time. This boosts the efficiency of a certain company and makes it lucrative.

Analyzing this rapid change, I feel there is a necessity for a considerable change in today’s education system. By keeping abreast with the skills required for sustaining in today’s workplace. Employees should also keep learning certain artificial intelligence tools, which would boost their profile and make them desirable at their workplace.