The world of work is changing rapidly and employees cannot depend on having the same job or the same working conditions for life. Discuss the possible causes for this rapid change, and suggest ways of preparing people for the world of work in the future.

The rapid change in the work environment including flexible job profiles and gig economy have heralded a multitude of changes for employees throughout the world. This transformation is driven by number of factors operating in tandem.

The technological development is seen as the primary catalyst of change in many industries. The rapid strides in Information and communication has allowed people to deliver their services from around the globe. One of the prominent example representing it is the growth of outsourcing industry.

Another important factor is the blurring of boundaries between nations aided by globalization. It has resulted in increasing amount of specialization in niche sectors of economy. Such concentrated range of work has led many experts criticizing it for cog in the wheel syndrome.

The use of machines and advanced automated robots as replacement of human labor marks another trend in working conditions. While their use has increased overall productivity, it has also resulted in joblessness for unskilled workers.

In this ever evolving environment, it is imperative for employees to keep on adding new skillsets in their arsenal. Their approach should be guided by dynamism with thrust on constant improvement and learning new techniques. The complacency of past should not hinder the endeavors of future.

Moreover, the organizations must provide the required resources to enable the workers to learn the new paradigms of working. The attitude of empathy and hand holding must dictate the process of relearning. Such positive mindset can result in the simultaneous growth of the companies as well as those working.