There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for couples who decide to do this.

There is a substantial rise in the number of married couples deciding to remain childless. Benefits to this emerging trend could be maybe the added responsibility that children bring into peoples lives ,and the freedom that comes along with being child free. Drawbacks could be that the couple might not have any support in their old age , along with a feeling of loneliness.

Predominantly, partners choose to not have children because they do not wish to be accountable for another individual. Having children means planning their entire life based on the comfort of their child . To exemplify, if the wedded couple wants to go on a trip, they have to ascertain that their children do not have school or any other commitments. Whereas kid free parents just need to pack up their bags and leave, and that is a luxury some couples refuse to give up.

Partners with no children may have to face a major situation, which is being alone in their 60’s . It is a common ideology in many South Asian countries, that children have to assume the responsibility of looking after their mother and father, as a way of respect and payback. Hence, from that point of view parents with kids are safe. For instance, the number of individuals getting admitted to old age homes are increasing in many developed countries like USA, which is attributed to the fact that they are childless.

In conclusion, the decision on whether or not to have children should be completely left to the wedded couple , but they must bear in mind the consequences that come along with either of those decisions.