There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for couples who decide to do this.

Nowadays, more and more couples are choosing to not have a child. This trend brings about both positive and negative impacts. While remaining childless would give couples more time to develop their career and care for themselves, these couples would have no one to take care of them when they get older and they would also be more likely to divorce.

On the one hand, since bringing up a child consumes an enormous amount of time, not having to do so provides people with precious time for other duties. Parents have to take care of their child, since he was born till he has grown up enough to look after himself. The amount of time they can gain by not doing such tasks is insurmountable and they can spend that amount of essential resouce on their career, which will help them live independently later on in their lives. They can also use that time to get regular medical checkups, which ensures them a healthy life and prevents deadly diseases such as cancer.

On the other hand, couples who don’t have offspring tend to find themselves helpless once they are old since there is no one to look after them. When people get old, every daily task becomes a burden. It is not only about their physical conditions, but also their mental health. They need someone who they can rely on, and that someone is most of the time their child. Recent research found out that people who are childless, or lost their child, are more likely to feel unhappy at the end of their lives, regardless of their accomplishments. Childless couples are also more likely to divorce, as they have no tangible proof to prove their love for each other.

In conclusion, while choosing to not have a child gives people an enormous amount of time to work on themselves, it also exposes them to loneliness and a higher risk of divorce.