There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for couples who decide to do this.

Nowadays, there is a raising trend of married couples around the world not wanting to have children. The benefits of not having a child is career and having enough time for themselves. The main drawback is loneliness when they are old.

The main advantage for a childless couples is work. They see having children as a means of distraction in their career that is to say, these couples main focus is building their career to get to the top professional level in the various fields. Another point is couples not wanting children tend to spend more time to themselves such as going for vacations together on their work leave period and visiting friends without thinking of baby sitting any child.

The disadvantages of couples deciding not to have children will lead to loneliness and the end of family legacy. These childless couples will be become lonely when they get old which they have no choice than to register for care home to take care of them when they are not able to take care of themselves. Another demerit, there will no one to carry their legacy when they are dead in term of family names and properties for example in Nigeria culture having children is very important because the Nigerian couples believes that their hard work to acquire wealth is for their children and generations.

In conclusion, married couples not having children is due to career building and more time for themselves. However, their decision can lead to loneliness and family legacy ends.