There is too much noise in many public places in cities. What are the causes of this problem? What can be done to solve the problem?

Nowadays there are a lot of rackets in cities, where most people are concentrated. This is mainly because of the problems with infrastructure and overpopulation. Nevertheless, there are a number of solutions which should be implemented to deal with din.

To start with, the main reason for noise pollution in cities is poorly designed urban infrastructure. Otherwise, while constructing some elements of city design, architects and urbanists forgot to make into account some essential rules of urban planning. This may include some gaps of isolation systems, wrong places for location of entertainment centers and parks in the vicinity of residential areas. Hence, this could create the incessant sound. To deal with this problem we could provide some beta versions of urbanists canvas and send them to specialists, who could evaluate the project and accept it to prevent the mistakes. By this we could enhance the quality of urban designs and be sure that the final version would bring to citizens the opportunity to relax and abstract from the sounds in their apartments.

Another reason for the noise is the transportation. It is known that means of transport could make a sound. Nevertheless, it has a damaging effect on people, especially if such deafening sounds are heard daily. One of the possible solutions of reducing such noises is to construct special roads far away from apartments and homes. In this way high pitched sounds could be mitigated for pedestrians. For instance, in Moscow there are a lot of such highways which also minimize traffic jams and regulate the number of cars on main roads.

In conclusion, most public spaces are noisy due to such reasons as poor urban planning and the sounds from transportation. The main responsibility lies with specialists of urban planning, designers and architects.