These days it is much easier for many people to travel to different countries for tourism than in the past, do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Tourism has been a fast expanding business in the last 100 years.This is mainly because of the increasing interest among the people to travel abroad.

With the advent of the airways, people have been able to commute with convenience and comfort to explore different countries.There are several advantages of this development.Firstly, tourism development boosts a country’s economy.With the increasing number of visitors to a particular region,the businesses set up in such places tend to flourish as there is always an influx of customers.The high reputation of such tourist attractions encourages new entrepreneurs to invest and set up their companies.Secondly, improvement in transport saves a lot of time for the travellers who are impatient throughout the journey.Thirdly,international tourism creates an awareness among people and educates them about various cultures of different nations.This in turn preserves the harmony amongst men and women belonging to different nationalities and reduces the risk of war.

However, the advancement in transport facilities over the years also entails its own limitations. The massive resurgence in the number of qualified Indians working in foreign countries in the last 100 years is a vital proof to the fact that development has done some harm to few nations. This has created a massive brain drain, resulting in deterioration of the quality of work and increased corruptions in India.Another major disadvantage is that the technological advancements have been over exploited by travellers.This has led to the wastage of natural resources.

In conclusion, the improvement in transport facilities for tourism has several advantages that seemingly outweigh its disadvantages.It is therefore imperative that we as human beings swear to be considerate towards the resources that we utilise and preserve the resources that we are blessed with, as well as enjoy the benefits that the current transport provides for our travel.