These days it is much easier for many people to travel to different countries for tourism than in the past, do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, due to development and globalisation, people can travel overseas to many countries or cultures, however, along with the benefits and profits of tourism, it has a big potential for cultures and the environment. This essay discusses both views and will include which side outweighs than other.

On the one hand, tourism has always been an important section of every country’s economy, it helps countries express their cultures to the world. According to the Global Tourism Statistics, in 2019, all countries had salaries of over 60 million dollars from the tourism sector, this money can improve the quality of living for people, and it also assures that companies in charge of these tourism destinations have the money to protect and preserve it. In other words, global tourism has contributed a huge part to the development of countries around the world. Besides the profits, tourism is also good for seeing new places and learning about foreign countries.

On the other hand, littering to the disappearance of natives, are all negative impacts of tourism. To cut down on the cost of running the tours, many companies use plastic products for the travellers, making the environment contaminated and inhospitable for the natives. To be more specific, structures can be damaged by littering and pollution, making the governments pay huge amounts of money to preserve and fix these man-made structures. Additionally, with the contamination of water sources and the destruction of their habitat for tourism, many tribes have disappeared. In other words, many cultures have been lost due to this expansion of mass tourism.

In conclusion, global tourism provides billions of dollars annually, but profits can’t fix the consequences which are environmental pollution and the loss of many different creatures from the world. In my opinion, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.