These days it is much easier for many people to travel to different countries for tourism than in the past, do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is said that nowadays, going abroad is simpler for society than the earlier days. The main benefits of having easy access to foreign countries is being able to enhance the country’s economic growth. The main drawback is it can lead to environmental issues due to massive tourists.

On the one hand, having many tourists coming to the country can lead to economic growth. When tourists visit one country, most of them buy goods that are produced locally and bring them back home as a souvenir for their relatives. They purchase items which are uniquely available at those places. For example, many people come to Indonesia, especially Yogyakarta, where they produce a huge amount of handmade batik. These batiks can only be found in Yogyakarta and are considered special because those clothes are one of a kind and it is one of the national uniforms.

On the other hand, a huge amount of people coming to one country can make the surroundings dirty. Every country has their own policies and some places have their unique rules that maybe considered normal in other nations. If people don’t recognize the policies, they could be fined and also disturb the locals. In South Korea, for instance, they have a system that requires them to sort the waste into several kinds using different colors of trash bag. This regulation is made to ensure the hygiene of the surroundings and has to be followed by everyone who is staying there.

In conclusion, the main benefits of having many people visiting the country for holiday exceeded the drawbacks because they can contribute to the state’s income despite dealing with some environmental problems.