These days, people spend a large amount of money on their physical appearance. Why do people do this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, spending a great amount of money on appearance is prevalent among many people because they want to preserve a youthful appearance. This change is mainly caused by social attitudes about beauty standards and fear of aging. In my opinion, it represents a highly positive development.

One key reason for this trend is that society changed their attitudes about appearance standards. Individuals might have seen high standards of good-looking from social media, such as Instagram and Tik Tok, where a lot of people look younger than their real ages. Due to that most people tend to compare themselves to others from the internet, which in fact, frequently use filters. This results in involving in beauty procedures and transforming their aesthetic appeal in order to become appropriate to standards.

Feeling fearful and reluctance about aging also contribute to this trend. Today, most individuals do not want to lose their youth appearance, as it is considered as attractiveness and energy. They might feel less confidence when they have the indignities of aging, and encounter societal pressure. Because of this reason they may invest a lot of money on staying younger in look through procedures, such as botox and plastic surgery.

I largely believe this is a positive development for reasons. Firstly, people in society will look more appealing and younger, which may promote them to develop the beauty industry. For instance, South Korea is the country, which owns one of the largest and well-known beauty industries. Many residents in this country look relatively younger, as they are involved in beauty procedures to keep their youth appearance. Secondly, the benefits for anti-aging industries. When many people wish to have the appeal of looking young, such industries may advance their profits. A good example of this is the country what I mentioned above – South Korea. This counry has numerous facilities directed towards doing anti-aging procedures, which are making a great incomes.

In conclusion, changing social attitudes and feeling fearful are main reasons why more individuals are throwing money at their youthful appearance. Overall, I think this is a positive trend because it can improve social attractiveness and progress the age-defying industry.