Today different types of robots are being developed which can serve as companions and workers to help at work and at home. Is it a positive or negative development?

Robotics is expanding nowadays in that several kinds of robots are being produced to function both at home and workplace to keep the company of families and perform various tasks respectively. Despite these laudable characteristics, I believe the trend is a negative one because it would diminish available job opportunities for people and destroy human social interactions.

First and foremost, unemployment is ravaging the global labour landscape at present and while there is no denying that a growing number of people have been displaced from their jobs by robots, it is worrying that their availability has made the situation worse. The advent of Robotic Automation has made employers believe that robots can work faster and more consistently, such that people might not even be required. Although this might not be entirely true, it has done little to limit the exploding global unemployment figures. Since the establishment of the industry more than six decades ago, more people have lost their jobs in engineering, medicine, pharmacy and other fields of human endeavour than before. Therefore, there appears to be no better way to describe the development other than an unwelcome one.

Furthermore, when robots take over basic activities at home, there is bound to be a physical, social and emotional disconnection and disintegration among family members. The main objective of building homes is to socialise and learn good habits such as empathy, respect, appreciation and so on from siblings. Robots, however, can offer none of these as they are emotionless. Consequently, delegating these social responsibilities to robotic machines would be an exercise in futility. There are overwhelming shreds of evidence that families where tasks that require personalised human touch, such as love, communication and connection are often disjointed and disconnected from one another compared to those where everyone participates in making the home to work and grow. Hence, the move towards robot-driven work and home environment is a step in the wrong direction.

In conclusion, by rendering more people jobless and making society socially uninteresting, the proliferation of various robotic systems these days to take up diverse activities at home and in the workplace is an untoward initiative.