Today, many people do not know their neighbors. Why is this? What can be done about this?

In this modern society, we are facing a fact that there are an increasing number of neighbors who do not know or interact to each other. This tendency is inevitable due to the technological advancements which have been gradually isolating individuals and could be tackled through initiatives of government or other organizations.

The world is evolving rapidly in terms of technology, and undeniably goes hand in hand with the trend of becoming more physically secluded. A myriad of socials, video games,… are born each day and used by millions of people. Furthermore, these applications are designed in a way that are somehow so addicting, making it hard for people to put their phone off or to leave the appealing screens. Good examples include socials like Facebook, Instagram, TikTok,.. or role-play video games. The habit of spending time on those occupies the majority of people’s spare time, causing them to feel in no longer need of stepping outside to socialize out of boredom or a sense of connection.

The simplest but most effective solution might bear upon the responsibility of government and other organizations to hold communal activities as a method to promote relations within the neighborhoods. Since there is no reverse advancement in technology, this challenge could be countered through proactive measures. Those activities could vary from a local food festival to a musical concert, after which the neighbor community are likely to contact more as an acquaintance or an actual friend. If the authorities are unwilling to undertake such initiatives, then local communities could also organize various events. As a result, the frozen relation might be thawed over time.

In conclusion, the reality of people becoming less socializing is naturally the result of modernization along with its technological advancements. People of authorities or organizations should organize more events to connect people in the same neighborhood for the relations to be rekindle. If there is no initiatives alike, the high chance is the society will become a more of a bleak place.