Topic 3 : The best way to teach children to cooperate is through team sports at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Nowadays, most teachers are prone to establishing sports activities at school due to believing its best benefits concerning companionship among students. While I agree that involvement in such sports events may contribute to one’s social skills, it is definitely not the sole effective method of doing so.

Undoubtedly, it is wrong to overlook some advantages of being a member of sports related teams. First of all, participating in games held between two teams can give rise to children’s cooperation perfectly. To be more precise, each pupil feels a strong fighting spirit in their inner-selves while standing against the opposite team, which directly contributes to having a sense of creating strong bonds with their own team. To give an example, in football games , the players continuously aim to defeat an opponent by a brief talk among them, planning special acts which should be left choking another team. Hence, with a view to improving a sense of deliberate, amiable gathering in school children, setting up these kinds of sports games could be a better option.

However, in my opinion, there are other practical ways as well. One of them is traveling with a class to nature by bus and having extra challenges to create an environment to contribute to habits which involve survival. To be more specific, the more the environment is unfamiliar with them, the higher the chance of coordinating activities and attempting to solve problems together. Additionally, taking into account the unique personalities of each, tutors should give an assignment in which they are all free to choose their partners to work with. This may make visible even some missing traits of children, offering much more opportunities to express themselves while communicating. For example, if it is optional to choose partners up to three or four on their own, the level of self-esteem can significantly grow as well.

In conclusion, the role of other activities at schools must be considered essential to improve a sense of entertainment. Meanwhile, it is unacceptable to give team sports as the only practical method of development.