When choosing a job, the salary is the most important consideration. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that jobseekers select their careers based on salary level. While I accept that this perception is somewhat justifiable, I believe that others base their job choice on more important considerations rather than salary alone.

On the one hand, a good number of applicants tend to choose a high-paid job because of several driving factors. Firstly, wage plays an integral part in guaranteeing an acceptable standard of living. This is because being offered a high salary could allow employees to cover various costs of living, such as accommodation, food, and bills, or even go on luxury holidays, which could also improve their living standards. Furthermore, one of the best motivations is a competitive salary. For instance, the head of a company may offer a pay rise to employees who are able to achieve a sales target during the year, which could act as a motivator for them to work harder as well as enhancing their job performance.

On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that jobseekers have different motivations apart from salary when choosing an occupation. One reason is that job satisfaction is extremely important when choosing a career. If candidates adore the outdoor life, they will not be happy being a stockbroker or a financier, no matter the salaries for both positions are extremely high. Another reason is that social contributions should be considered thoroughly before selecting a profession. For example, employees who work for projects aiming to raise the academic level of children living in remote areas are more delighted and satisfied than those having 9-to-5 jobs, even though their paychecks are quite low.

In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that money is a factor that has a decisive role to play in choosing a career ladder, I would contend that it is imperative that other aspects be taken into consideration before making a career path decision.