When we meet someone for the first time, we generally decide very quickly what kind of person we think they are and if we like them or not. Is this a good thing or a bad thing?

We tend to judgment about people by looking at them at first time we meet and find whether they are kind or whether we like them. In my personal opinion, I find it a common tendency in people’s sight and I suppose that it can be both positive and negative aspect I will elaborate why in this essay.

On the one hand, it is crucial for us to assess what types of person we think they are as soon as we meet them because this provides sense of protection. People may not feel safe until they genuinely know with whom they get along. For example, people may commit a criminal act without regard for the target, whether it is someone they just met or even someone they have a long-term relationship with. Additionally, we tend to desire lasting relationship. Therefore, making judgments about people is an important step we need to consider.

On the other hand, it can be a negative aspect to judge people based on first impression. This is because first impressions are often based on superficial information, such as appearance, clothing, or initial behavior, which may not accurately reflect a person’s true character or abilities. Moreover, people behavior during a first encounter can be influenced by external factors such as stress, nervousness, or having a bad day, which might not represent their demeanor. Consequently, we may lost the opportunity to get friends who may be kind or wise.

In conclusion, even though it may seem true that the negatives are outweighed, however, taking the time to get to know someone beyond initial impressions fosters more accurate, fair, and empathetic understandings of others.