Who should teach children to become good members of society: parents or schools?

A majority of people have the opinion that adults and parents should teach the young generation how to be good community members. Others believe that this will be learned at school. This essay will discuss each position, before giving my own opinion.

On the one hand, it is often argued that adults and parents should teach how to be good members of society. This opinion is based on the idea that parents are the first example for young children of how to behave. Because children copy everything that their parents do, especially communication. For example, if a father smokes and uses bad words, his child will copy him and want to be exactly like him. But there are also many good things. For instance, if a mother cooks dinner and shows love to her husband, then her son will choose someone like his mother in the future. To sum up, parents and other adults play a great role in forming the young generation into good people.

On the other hand, it is often argued that school is the perfect place to teach how to be a good member of the community or society. This opinion is true in some cases. Firstly, school is the place where everyone starts to communicate and faces different types of people. Nowadays, there is a lot of bullying in schools, and it can badly affect children’s thinking. However, there are also many good things. School is a perfect environment; it is like a small society, so young people learn these skills especially at school.

In conclusion, while some people believe that parents should explain these things, others believe that school should teach them, I believe that everything starts from the family, and teaching the young generation is mainly in the hands of parents and adults.