With the rapid advancement of communication technology: smart phones, tablets and other mobile devices, some people believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technological advancement has completely transformed the way people communicate. Many individuals contend that this phenomenon brings about more drawbacks, however, I only partly agree with this perspective for several reasons.

On the one hand, the development of technology contribute significantly to the efficiency of communication by sending information immediately. It is apparent that, the advent of technological advancement, such as smart phones, tablets and other mobile devices, enables people to keep in touch with others more conveniently. This is because these devices accompanied with the Internet, allow people to send messages immediately regardless of geographical barriers and time constrains. For instance, nowadays, many universities tend to keep their students informed through emails, which allows learners to keep up with new announcements even when they are absent.

On the other hand, the rapid development of technology communication is also fraught with many problems associated with social ties. Many people tend to make use of these online devices to communicate and avoid in-person conversations, which offer irreplaceable uniques, such as emotional expressions. This digital isolation potentially lead to the erosion of social relationships or even mental health problems, because of the reduction in the number of traditional physical meetings.

In conclusion, although communication technology allows people to communicate immediately without the constrains of time and geography, it devalues the importance of in-person conversations and potentially causes digital isolation.