With the rise of remote work and online communication, physical offices are becoming less essential. Do the advantages of a predominantly remote workforce outweigh the disadvantages for companies and employees?

Recently there has been a rise in working online instead of in offices. While there are many disadvantages to this situation, the advantages outweight them without a doubt.

On one hand, many employees prefer working regularly in offices or work spaces because it allows them to really immerse themselves in the productive environment. When working remotely, the common alternative to the office is home, this presents several issues, one of which is the unavailability of a tidy workspace. Most homes of the working class do not incude ensuite offices, this forces tasks to be completed in places such as the living room or bedroom which are often surrounded by noise, this noisy environment often reduces efficiency as it easly distracts from getting work done. Another issue includes network errors and connectivity problems which cannot be controlled by the worker; however, the workers inevitably pay the price. Moreover, a complaint from the community of telecommuters is that they do not get enough in-person interaction with other people, many report that this issue has increased anxiety levels, reduced social skills, and even created depression in some extreme cases, which is why they deem that working in an environment with other people is much more beneficial. Many people that work remotely have also come forward about their struggles with seperating their work life from their personal life, this happens because their brain gets confused from constantly doing everything in the same space (their homes), which is horrible for their mental health.

On the other hand, others enjoy working remotely as it offers flexibility, comfort, and helps the environment. Working from a distance allows for flexibility in working hours; the need for a functioning nine-to-five office becomes eliminated, this provides an opportunity for employees to work at different times throughout the day and get more work accomplished. Furthermore, there are many night owls in the workforce, allowing them to work at night will definitely increase productivity. Additionally, working from home creates a safe comfortable space and a relaxing feeling for countless workers; many people report that commuting to and from work during traffic only to be met with high levels of tension in the office creates high stress levels, stress level capable of reducing the efficiency and quality of work produced. Studies have proven that the less stressed a person is, the better and more impressive their work becomes. In addition to that, reducing the amount of people going to and from work everyday undeniably benefits the earth; cars are one of the top contributors to aerial pollution, lowering the number of cars in the road will ultimately diminish the levels of carbon emissions released into the atmosphere.

In conclusion, while working from afar does present a few obstacles, the positives it introduces to our world exceed any disadvantages it might bring.