Writing Task 2: Please complete it in atleast 250 words Today more people are overweight than ever before. What in your opinion are the primary causes of this? What are the main effects of this epidemic?

In recent times, a larger number of people are obese than in the past. In my opinion, the major causes are unhealthy food habits and stress which can lead to low life expectancy and severe health issues.

To begin with, the main cause of being overweight is maintaining a diet. For example, in today’s world people have no time to cook food at home due to work-life balance. Therefore, most of them order food online from services such as Zomato or Swiggy. These foods are high in calories and fat which can cause a person to gain weight. Secondly, stress in a person’s daily life can be explained by an example, in a fast-paced environment most of the population is concerned about their jobs and money as there is intense competition for promotions and providing necessities for their families. This results in people consuming huge quantities of alcohol leading to weight gain.

The effects of this include health problems and dying at a very young age. For instance, people who are obese are prone to infections that can affect their internal organs, especially the lungs, making it difficult to breathe. Additionally, they are less responsive to medication prescribed by physicians because of a weak immune system. Finally, it becomes difficult to survive over the years.

In conclusion, the various lifestyles of the population such as eating junk food and pressure in the workforce or in day-to-day life, are the outcome of increased weight. Hence, this can have huge issues on an individual’s well-being and lifespan.