You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In the last decade, there has been a great increase in global air travel. What do you think are the reasons for this and do you think it is a good thing? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words

In recent years, we have indeed seen a huge increase in air travel throughout the globe. The world is becoming a smaller place, as humans are now able to visit countries all over the world.

People enjoy visiting distant countries for recreational travel. Flights are more accessible than ever before, especially with travel agencies such as Expedia providing great deals for tourism. Many companies and businesses are willing to sponsor workers from all around the globe also. Many people view this as an opportunity to advance their professional careers and improve their quality of life. Immigration to other countries, hence has also become an easier process.

Private jets contribute to increase in air travel throughout recent years as well, and more and more celebrities prefer this as a means of travel. They value the intimacy of smaller planes and fewer people on board.

Despite the popularity and convenience of flights and air travel, I personally believe that this is not beneficial for the world, long-term. Air planes and private jets are notoriously known for emitting extremely harmful amounts of nitrogen and carbon dioxide in the atmosphere. This causes a lot of air pollution. Carbon dioxide, also being a green house gas, traps sunlight and heat, adding to the problem of global warming and climate change.

Frequent use of air planes and private jets are thus harmful for the environment, and if not regulated, can lead to devastating consequences. Therefore, it is important that countries around the globe recognize this and implement relevant strategies to minimize harm to the environment.