You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Getting a higher education is seen as a fundamental aspect of learning in many countries around the world. While some are of the opinion that students should still reside with their loved ones during this period of learning, others believe that it is more beneficial to go to a university in a city different from the one in which their families reside.

In this essay, I will explore the merits and demerits of residing away from home during tertiary education and give a reason for my support of the former.

Residing away from one’s home while attending university is discouraged by some people as they feel that students are not mature enough to live on their own and still need the watchful eyes of their parents or guardians. This is commonly seen in families with just one child. Also, attending a higher institution of learning while living at home could help the family save and reduce the entire amount of money spent on university education. Another benefit of living at home while attending university is that it reduces the distance students have to travel to get to school. This, on the other hand, minimizes the risk of accidents.

While the above are all valid reasons in support of residing at home during university, the merits of living away from home surpass them. For example, students who live away from home learn to be independent of their families, and this helps produce more well-rounded students. Another important aspect of living away from home is that it allows the students to immerse themselves fully into the university community rather than just being academic participants. This allows for better collaboration with other fellow students. Giving a personal experience, I was afforded the full university experience as an undergraduate in the university during my study period, and this helped improve my collaborative skills both academically and in other aspects.

In conclusion, while the idea of living at home may seem ideal, I still maintain that it is more beneficial for students to live away from home.