Young people now spend less time doing outdoor activities. Why is this happening, and what can be done to encourage them to spend more time outside?

The younger generation is getting used to spending less time doing outdoor activities.

This is mainly caused by extensive use of technological devices and a lack of safe outdoor areas for children to play. Possible solutions might be limiting screen time and governments’ attention to construction of new safe places for outdoor activities.

The widespread use of digital devices is one of the significant reasons for this trend. Today, young individuals have access to their gadgets at any time and they prefer using social media,playing games and interacting with each other online without leaving their homes. As a result, outdoor activities may seem less attractive to children. Parents can address this problem by setting reasonable limits. Parents should permit their children to use their electronic gadgets for a particular amount of time per day and motivate them to spend theirtime playing sports or sharing time with friends outside. Therefore, limiting screen time mayinspire them to strike a balance between online entertainment and outdoor activities.

Another main factor is the lack of safe and well-equipped spaces in some areas. In denselypopulated areas, there may be few parks, playgrounds, sport grounds or green spaces, whereyoung people can exercise or socialize safely. Parents might be worried or concerned abouttraffic or personal safety, which can discourage them to let their children to go outside. It canbe solved by governments’ help and investment in constructing new accessible areas andfacilities for entertainment. Building more well- lit parks and improving safety in public placeswould help people feel secure and encourage them to be outside more.

To sum up, technology and limited access for safe outdoor facilities are two main reasons why young people are becoming less active outdoors. While parents can help with regulating their children’s screen time, authorities ought to provide safe and well-lit spaces that encourage young individuals to be physically active outside.