A family has a great influence on children's development, but the influence outside their home plays a bigger part in children's life. To what extent do you agree

People have different views on whether a child’s life is genuinely influenced by their parents or from outside the home. From my perspective, while being influenced from outside the warm home can have certain benefits, the positive implications of parents should not be overlooked.

Admittedly, there are several advantages associated with being outside affected that play a pivotal role in a child’s life. One notable benefit is that children spend significant time at school, which makes children influenced by teachers and friends. This not only enables a child to develop their behaviour and social skills, but also creates formation of personality and values. Additionally, being heavily exposed to media and state-of-the-art technology, which allows children access to different ideas and lifestyles. Therefore, if they change in attitudes and behaviour from new ideas and lifestyles, they will have strong external influence.

Despite these merits, I would argue that family always remains the strongest influence in the development of kids. First and foremost, parents teach their moral values from childhood, which is the golden time for children to learn right and wrong early. Because of rewarding the right lessons early, offspring have strong foundations for behaviour. As a consequence, their character will be developed day to day. Moreover, family members provide emotional support and supervision, which permit children to feel secure and guided. So, kids will have a healthier mental and emotional development. In addition, this also provides positive long-term outcomes for society.

In conclusion, although family may provide certain advantages and remain a fundamental influence on a child’s development, external factors also carry significance and long-term value.