A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed. What are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world? Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many locations around the globe depend on tourism as a significant source of income. However, tourism can also lead to many negative effects if it is not controlled properly. Some advantages of tourism include a better representation of the country, increased funds, and greater diversity. On the other hand, tourism can also lead to environmental damage as well as an increase in crime. I believe that the advantages outweigh the drawbacks in the majority of circumstances.

Tourism can improve the image of a nation as people can experience its culture and people. The only way to truly understand a country or geographical location is by visiting it in person and tourism greatly facilitates this. For example, the UAE has become a prominent location in the Middle East and Asia just because of its unique culture and infrastructure. In addition, tourists also enhance the economy and diversity of a place. Generally, they spend a lot of money in the region they visit which facilitates the local economy and ensures that the government has more funds to support the local population. Tourism also attracts people from all over the world which ensures diversity and forms a cultural mixing pot. The Middle East is a perfect example to demonstrate my point. Over time, more and more people have invested in the economy which has made the countries some of the wealthiest in the world. Furthermore, cuisines from thousands of miles away are routinely enjoyed in these nations due to their significant focus on tourism.

On the other hand, there are some drawbacks to tourism as well. Firstly, many tourists forget to take care of the local environment when they are visiting which leads to pollution and environmental degradation. For example, many famous beaches worldwide are now covered with litter and garbage, damaging the pristine beauty of the region. Secondly, there is a correlation with foreign people visiting a location, and an increased probability of crime. This usually occurs because foreigners don’t know enough about the common traps in these places. Personally, when visiting a foreign nation, I have come across many individuals who have tried to scam me and my family, making us feel really uncomfortable and wary of the region.

In my opinion, tourism brings more positives than negatives. Tourists ensure that a place is understood and appreciated for what it offers while also allowing it to benefit from the increase in income. Moreover, by implementing effective solutions, we can ensure that the drawbacks have very limited effects.

In conclusion, tourists have the capability to transform the culture of a geographical location while also facilitating its recognition. After considering both sides, I am in favor of tourism and think that it brings many positives.