A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed. What are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world? Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over the last few years, tourism has become one of the most booming sectors in the world, which connects people from one end of the world to the other. Unfortunately, it has a number of pitfalls that can become detrimental to the country if not handled properly. Nonetheless, the tourism sector in the modern world has been generating an abundance of revenue. This essay will elaborate the pros and cons of tourism in our contemporary world.

Tourism affects the environment and the cleanliness of well-known tourist places. An improper management of the sites, can cause a deleterious effect on the ecology of the place. Moreover, the demand for the increased accommodation can lead to the construction of more hotels. However, this often results in the destruction of forests and over-exploitation of natural resources, disturbing the world’s natural conservation. Furthermore, negligence on the part of the management can aggrandize illegal activities like trafficking and unauthorized business of antiques and valuables.

Moving on to the conveniences provided by the tourism industry there are two major ones. Firstly, it augments the economy of the country and provides boost with the inflow of foreign exchange. As a prime example, tourism can make an indigenous culture known to the world; sites that show country’s cultural heritage is made accessible to the public, visitors from all over the world will soon flock there. This money is utilized for the development of the infrastructure for both the citizen and the upcoming tourists as well as the preservation of heritage construction. Secondly, tourism has been creating a plethora of employment opportunities for the local people. In other words, tourism boosts a country’s economy by creating numerous new job prospects for the inhabitant.

As has been demonstrated, the tourism industry has downsides such as disastrous impacts on the forest, on the contrary it does not overshadow the beneficial impacts on the country’s economy. Hence, I totally believe that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks.