A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed. What are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world? Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many nations are known to have tourism as a main income source. However, the industry, if managed poorly, can pose certain risks. This essay will argue that although tourism may inflate the cost of living, the fact that many citizens are employed by the industry means that the disadvantages are outweighed by the benefits.

On the one hand, foreign visitors can provide locals with new job opportunities. When individuals from abroad visit certain countries, new facilities are created: hotels, restaurants, and amusement parks. This means that more employment options are available for citizens. The more people are occupied with jobs, the lower the unemployment rate is, and the more prosperous the nation becomes. To illustrate, the Emirati city of Dubai is one megapolis that experienced an economic boost from the tourism sector. Having once been a desert, it has changed beyond recognition: modern infrastructure and architecture, occupying many locals, have been introduced. This meant that more people came to visit the city, thereby creating even more workplaces.

On the other hand, when hordes of tourists visit a country, they might contribute to the rise of prices across the board. Take for example Ukrainian refugees in central Europe. The average cost for accommodation and private vehicles has grown considerably in the region after the Russo-Ukrainian conflict started. As a result, paying the inflated rent is becoming a financial burden for many a local household. Hence, when there are too many visitors in the nation, a local population may have to suffer the negative economic effects.

In conclusion, it cannot be denied that crowds of foreigners can be adverse to a state’s prosperity. And yet, the fact that they create new workplaces for residents takes precedence over the possible negative impact.