Across the world, local shops are closing due to losing customers to online competitors. What problems does this produce? And what solutions can you suggest to overcome them?

Nowadays, a plenty of purchasers prefer online shopping more than visiting of local stores. This can lead to serious problems which are connected with reduction of the whole industry of offline sales. This essay will examine main problems of this situation and recommend some possible solutions.

Firstly, it is significantly important to understand that this situation can cause an extended increase of unemployed people. In other words, many workers of physical shops will have a risk to get fired. For instance, the income of a physical store can decrease rapidly due to the competition with online shopping resources. It causes minimization of the staff, because the local store will earn less money from the purchases. Moreover, if the income plummets remarkably, some stores can even go bankrupt, and then a wide range of people will lose their jobs. Another plight is that the whole industry of physical shopping can be replaced by online shops. What is meant is that while a various number of internet stores are thriving, most of the physical shops are closing, because of the reduction in customers. This is a huge problem for the older generation which is not fully adapted to the informatization of common aspects of life. A case in point is that an old woman who do not use gadgets and internet resources in her daily life will not be able even to order some products delivery, because she got used to shopping in local supermarkets.

In terms of possible ways to eliminate these issues, the government can open special programs for those people who lost their job in offline shopping sphere. In more details, the social program will financially help people who was fired because of the store’s bankruptcy during the period of searching for the new place of work. Furthermore, the government of each country can cope with the problem of low technological education level among older people by creating free classes for them. Such lessons can be useful for those adults who do not understand how to buy goods in internet.

To conclude, the replacement of physical stores by the digital shopping is a huge problem for many workers of this sphere and adults who are not as familiar with gadgets and internet as the younger generation, however, there are some ways to deal with these problems, such as creating new social programs for unemployed people and opening free courses about information technologies.