ADVANTAGES DISADVANTAGES ESSAY 1 Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, humans tend to live longer years than before. Some believe that the increasing elderly population is problematic for the country while, others argue that having the older generation has more benefits to the society. Even though there are disadvantages, I belive that the advantages outweigh them.

Firstly, starting with the advantages, the generations before have gained a huge amount of experience that they can use as an opportunity to teach the young adults about life and its obstacles. For instance, being first time parents can be overwhelming and challenging. There can be numerous times where you get lost, exhausted and will seek help. Therefore, asking help from your own parents can reduce the anxiety of making mistakes while raising a newborn and taking day offs for yourselfs while your child is with their grandparents can give the parents some free time to spend together.

Secondly, not all seniors are enabled to work and exercise even when there are considered pensioners. For example, many old timers work as volunteers and assist organizations that protect the environment either it is animals, greenery, wildlife or forster youngsters that need affection. Also, many senior citizens adopt already grown service dogs if needed or any other shelter animals that no one wants since there are already old but this is not the case with the elderly they can provide them a warm home while loving, feeding and cherishing them.

On the other hand, in most situations many people do not want or cannot do anything after getting on pension, but the government still needs to provide for them with income, health care, insurance, and etc. Moreover, some elders do not have anyone to look after them so they get assigned to live in nursing homes. However, in countries with a significantly high rate of elders, it is a necessity to build more facilities for them and that is not profitable for many countries.

In conclusion, although constructing nursing homes and furnish payment is not convenient for most countries, these disadvantages are outweighed by the great things the older generation offers with their care and wisdom.