Advertisements are becoming more and more common in our everyday life. Is ti positive or negative development?

It is widely witnessed that advertising plays an important role in our daily routine. While I accept that this development has some positive impacts on our lives, I believe that it has more negative impacts compared to positive ones.

On the one hand, the widespread of advertising offers tremendous advantages that contribute to companies and customers. To begin with, advertising is the best way to bring the companies’ images and the products closer to customers. Establishing a business, investing a large amount capital into it, updating the marvelous technologies will result in making a great product, but without advertising, such progress may become meaningless. Furthermore, if there is no advertising, it will be impossible to tell the buyer what the main value of a product is. From the customers’ perspective, advertising offers unparalleled convenience. People can easily look up what they need, compare the prices, and eventually add the items that meet their demand to the cart, all of this assuming the existence of advertising.

Despite the aforementioned benefits, I hold the belief that the negative impacts of this trend on privacy issues and consumer behaviors are far more significant than the positive ones. Regarding the privacy issues, this development means that the private data is more and more at risk of leaking or being collected. It is not simply that your name, age, email, phone numbers,… are revealed to another, but it also involves bank accounts. This can leads to a situation in which one person becomes a miserable victim. Another drawback of this trend can be seen in consumer behaviors. It is massively unpleasant to see a pop-up advertisement appearing when you are watching something on a monitor; in this sense, advertising and disturbance is synonymous. In addition, advertising can becomes an awful deceition, when the seller magnifies the product’s value that is not truth. Step by step, the buyer tends to be a skeptic who no longer believe anything.

In conclusion, advertising can bring certain benefits for companies and customers, but unfortunately, these positive effects are nullified by the detrimental impacts that such a development can have on our privacy and behaviors.