All university undergraduate courses should include a period of time spent studying abroad or doing a work placement. Do you think the advantages of this would outweigh the disadvantages?

It has been suggested that all the university students should spend a period of time

studying abroad or undertaking a work placement during their undergraduate studies. From my perspective, this view can help students gain valuable practical experience, although several drawbacks should also need to be taken into consideration.

It is readily apparent that students can gain significant benefits if universities include course of studying aboard or undertaking an internship as part of their undergraduate programs. One of the main advantages is that students can gained more experience which is quite different from what they learn in academic courses. They can strengthen their professional skills through work placements, or improve their communication abilities while studying aboard. As a result, they become more competitive in the job market after graduation.

However, certain pitfalls should be considered. Studying aboard requires a considerable amount of money, which may place financial pressure on some families. For instance, if parents struggle to afford the tuition fees and other additional expenses, sending their children overseas may worsen their financial burden. In addition, participating in a work placement or study-abroad program requires extra time and effort, which may reduce the time they spend on academic study. If students are unable to manage their time effectively, they may experience difficulties completing their degree on schedule.

In conclusion, although studying abroad or undertaking a work placement may place additional financial and academic pressure on students and their families, I believe this view is still reasonable to assume its advantages outweigh its disadvantages.