An article: Prizes and rewards You see this announcement on an English-language website: Articles wanted Have you ever received a prize or a reward? Tell us what you did to earn this prize or reward. How did you feel about what you received? Do you think that people try harder if they know they will get a prize or a reward? Write your article in 140 – 190 words in an appropriate style.

It was a year ago when I was given an award for outstainding performance at my college. That time, I had been working extremely hard a whole year, not really because of the award but because my parents were very strict and wanted me to study hard, although the prize for such hard work was a five grant, and besides me there were a ton of other students desiring to get this prize.

When the ceremony of rewarding the best student was taking part I did not really believe I could get at least a podium, not speaking of placing 1st. However, when the time came and my name was called an absolute winner of this “competition”, I felt extremely confused, and at first, I did not even really get that my name was being called several times, it was only when people around me told me I should get to the announcer right now. When I realised I was a winner, I felt fairly ambivalent, I was filled with the mix of feeling sof delightfulness and confusion, because that moment I still could not comprehend how I made it to the 1st place.

People, mostly think that individuals who are sure they can get to the first three places usually tend to try harder than others in order to guarantee their win. However, this was not my case, taking into account I did not count on getting any of first three places and only worked hard due to my parents. This means that at every common case there is always an exclusion, and you do not have to rely on common cases only.