Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that technology has become less expensive and more acessible. Owing to this, now days, people prefer to take care of their activities from home than working in person. While I believe this is a positive development, drawbacks attached to it shouldn’t be underestimated.

It is obvious that working or studying from home has some aspects of comfort with it. Not only this, but also it makes a person work independently without waiting for instructions and order from his superiors. This makes the person more responsible in discharging his/her duty, which leads to improved effectiveness. In addition to that, one can undertake tasks at his or her pace without continuous supervision and pressure . For instance, computer programmer prefer to program from home as that reduce the chance to be told what to do, how to undertake tasks, and when to or not to work.

However, working or studying from home using the advantange of accessibiliy of techonolgy is not without drawbacks. One of its negative impacts is that it reduces social interation between employees who work together and students and teachers in the academic environment. This has a negative implication on social life of a society at large. The other point to be mentioned is about its health effect. If people prefer to work or learn from home, the chance for mobility reduces, which results in health problems such as obesity and backpain.

In conclusion, while using technologies to work and study from home has some benefits, the negative consequences resulted from this practice should also be kept in mind.