Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, because of the swift transformation of technology, it is possible to work and access study material from home for adults and children, which indicates technology has become more accessible and cheaper. I find this development is more beneficial than negative, which in this essay will contain the reasons and my view elaborated in a further manner.

Adults who are categorized as working class benefit the most because the changes in the workplace to working from home allow workers to be more efficient and have a cheaper cost in a way. For instance, I have been working for roughly 2 years in a workplace that is around 23km away from my home. I need a significant cost every month just for my travel expenses to work, and I sometimes do overtime until late at night which results in double the cost. But with the changing culture to working from home, I can relocate the expenses for my travel to work in other sections, such as books or online classes for self-upgrade which can be beneficial to my performance at work, also by reducing the travel time to office, it means more work can be done in a day. But unfortunately, not all work can be done online so, sometimes it still needs coordination face-to-face.

Whereas, for children, by accessing the study material at home, the bond between parent and children can be improved as studying while parents are present in time would provide more guidance. Even though the time for children to socialize with their peers may be limited, instead, it can enhance the communication skills of the children, as they use online platforms which limited to a screen to connect with other pupils and teachers. For example, my niece needs to attend school from home for a while because of the pandemic with the medium mostly online platforms. Because her parent was present at the moment, she gained more confidence and had better communication skills afterward to publicly present her opinion.

Overall, even though the development of technology is making things more convenient, there are still negative and positive impacts on people’s lives. But, ignoring all the benefits it presents because of some negatives wouldn’t advance our life for the better, instead being open-minded about changes in an adaptive manner is the proper manner to face transformation.