Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

From my knowledge, the trend of working from home or studying from home has become more popular since the COVID-19 pandemic. In my opinion, it has both positive and negative aspects.

Speaking about the positive side, when COVID-19 hit the world, people were more comfortable doing work from home, and it was also safer. Thanks to more advanced technologies, we were able to work and study from home. The positive side of this is that we did not waste our time during such hard times. Students did not waste their important school or college years. Because of such affordable and advanced technologies, we can work from anywhere. So, this is a kind of good development for all of us. For instance, if one person is physically disabled due to a minor accident, they can still work on a computer. In this case, working from home is a more convenient option for them.

Now, considering the comfort level, people don’t want to go in-person for work or study. This is the negative development from the perspective of the employer or school or colleges. Because in many cases, people cannot work properly, there can be some kind of disturbances at home, which can reduce the quality of work. Ultimately, the employer has to bear the losses. Nowadays, many companies are encouraging their employees to work from the office. Work from the office is more effective. People can concentrate on their work, they can get help from others as needed. People can mingle with everyone else in the office. They can have a great corporate life. Likewise, this is true for students as well.

To conclude this discussion, working from home or studying from home has both positive and negative developmental advantages. But the most important thing is work-life balance. So, people have to consider both of these and get the most possible out of it.