Around the world, solar energy is becoming an increasingly popular source of energy for many households. Why do you think this is so? Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, growing attention on renewable energy has risen up significantly. Particularly, solar energy has gained their popularity among households around the world in view of saving household expenses. However, I consider there is drawbacks of solar energy are greater than the advantages.

Admittedly, compared to purchasing energy from companies, houses which produce energy at home can save money more than those. This is because they have no need to be supplied energy from companies as they are eligible to generate power at home. As a result, solar energy is especially popular in Tokyo, where inflation has been affecting our lives badly. In Tokyo, many houses set up solar panels to generate energy and harness energy inside their house.

Nevertheless, I believe that shortcomings of solar energy overweigh the advantages of solar energy. Solar energy is expensive in view of installing and maintaining the solar panel which is essential on generating solar energy from the sunlight. For example, majority of houses set up solar energy at roof top. Before installing, owners have to pay money on solar panels, which require high costs as the more solar panels they have, the more energy they can generate. Also, majority of houses set up solar energy at roof top. This requires special equipment and professionals to place solar panels on roof top. Moreover, after setting up the solar panels, owners still have to pay expensive money on maintenance in order to generate power efficiently.

Another disadvantage is that solar energy is unstable in producing energy. As solar energy is generated only by sunlight, the amount of energy generation fluctuate rapidly. Especially, during night time and winter season, the levels of solar energy decrease exponentially as lack of sunlight cause less energy generation. Therefore, the levels of energy produced by solar energy is unstable in view of weather and time.

In conclusion, solar energy is globally popular among houses as it possible to harness energy that produced in household and save money from that. However, there are drawbacks: it consts a lot in installing and maintaining solar panels, as well as instability of energy generation caused by verified levels of sunlight.