As languages such as English, Spanish and Mandarin become more widely spoken, there is a fear that many minority languages may die out. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages. What is your view of this practice?

In our increasingly globalized world, languages such as English, Spanish, and Mandarin have become famous and most widely spoken. Therefore, some people think that their local languages are in danger of extinction, and they have taken steps to revive languages. I agree with this idea because languages show people’s cultural identity, and they also give people educational benefits.

Firstly, it is worth considering that preserving minority languages is imperative to save cultural identity. Languages are not the only tool to communicate because they show the cultures, values, and traditions of the people. For example, some students cannot express their cultures, beliefs, and norms without their mother languages when they communicate with others from other countries. Additionally, speaking in local languages helps the government to arouse a strong sense of identity. For instance, when local languages are used in schools, ethnic communities feel more connected to the state.

Secondly, there is no doubt that reviving endangered languages boosts people’s education. To illustrate this point, students can learn academic subjects such as mathematics, science, and history more effectively when they are taught in their mother languages. As a result, they can build a strong academic foundation and reduce the dropout rates. Additionally, preserving minority languages enhances bilingual education, which boosts students’ cognitive skills because of developing literacy in their native languages.

In conclusion, despite the growing dominance of global languages in today’s world, taking actions to preserve endangered languages is essential as they are important to safeguard people’s cultural identity, and enhance the quality of education.