As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Statistically, internet has gained an immense amount of popularity since the advent of the ongoing century. It is expected that digital reading might takeover the concept of paper reading by the end of this century. The extent to which the prediction is true or not is debatable, but internet does have an edge over newspaper in the modern era.

The declining popularity of newspaper can be attributed to its understanding by the literate lot only. Followed by the effect it has on paper industry. Thirdly, the inaccessibility of information round the clock; rendering its users to access new information at designated hours only. Furthermore, newspaper tends to put daily cost on its users.

On the contrary, internet has proven its metal by countering the above mentioned drawbacks by its ability to spread information through visuals, audio etc. Secondly, the virtual world does not put a burden on the consumption of paper. The twenty four hour availability of internet is also an appreciable quality that keeps its user updated throughout the day without any additional expenses.

Despite the effective supremacy of internet over newspaper, a considerable population is still dependent on daily newspaper to be well informed. This lot of people belongs to the category of men and women who are not computer literate and do not appreciate this rapidly growing medium of information dissemination. A number of well educated people still wait for the newspapers on daily basis.

In my opinion, the increasing popularity of internet over the conventional mode of information access has revolutionized the modern day record keeping and played a vital role in keeping people well updated about the world around them. How society responds to this change in the longer run will dramatically affect the fate of the world.