As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It has become increasingly common for people to access the news electronically rather than with traditional print media with many commentators suggesting that this could spell the end for newspapers. I would agree with this and think that in the future newspapers will disappear.

First of all, news accessed online has much more interactivity than in a newspaper. Readers are given the option of commenting on stories, and discussing items on message boards. Furthermore, there is no limit to the number of photographs that could be included with a story with many sites even giving readers the opportunity to upload their own photos and videos.

Another point to make is that news read on the internet is much more current than in a newspaper. It is possible for readers to read about breaking stories and watch these stories develop, such as the emergence of a war or hostage negotiation. This is compared with newspapers which only report on the previous day’s events. As a result, they seem increasingly dated even before they hit the newsstands.

Finally, online news offers readers much more choice and a wider range of information. It is possible to read the same story from a range of different sources on the internet. For example, a news article with a left-wing stance compared to one with a more right-wing agenda. Some people suggest that this allows for a more balanced view than only reading the story in one newspaper as you can compare different viewpoints and the way stories are presented. This is compared with traditional newspapers which have much more editorial bias.

In conclusion, I would argue that in the future it will become increasingly difficult to sell newspapers. The fact that online news offers more interaction and choice and is more up to date means that traditional printed news will not be able to compete and will disappear.